Motorsport Ireland National Forest Rally Championship
Home About Us Contact Us

Motorsport Ireland National Forest Rally Championship

Home Navigation Contact Us

McCormack wins the Moonraker as McKenna takes the points!

Written on 15th April 2018 by TJ Hegarty

Media Library - Barry McKenna 2018


2018 Valvoline Motorsport Ireland National Forest Rally Championship
Round 3 Report

Barry McKenna & Leon Jordan in a Fiesta R5 are the new leaders of the Valvoline Motorsport Ireland National Forest Rally Championship following their second overall in the Abbey Hotel Moonraker Forest Rally. They finished 25.3 seconds behind rally winners Marty McCormack & David Moynihan in a Skoda R5 who were not championship registered. Josh Moffett & Stephen Thornton took third place after a difficult opening loop saw their Fiesta in 2WD mode only. They fought back to take the final podium position with some impressive stage times. Andrew Purcell led the championship prior to this, the third round, but differential problems forced him out after just two stages.


Media Library - Marty McCormack 2018

Shane McGirr & Eamonn Hayes were the top 2WD to finish in their Toyota Starlet after an impressive performance led them 11th overall by the finish. John Gordon & Thomas Wedlock took second in the category, just edging out Michael Conlon & Ciaran McPhillips who had lost time during the day with a puncture. David Crossens rally ended when a rock damaged a wheel and brake calliper in his Escort.

The junior section was won by Derek Mackarel who put in a stunning performance in his Vauxhall Nova and took sixteenth overall into the bargain. He had almost 25 seconds to spare over Marty Gallagher’s Peugeot 208 R2 with William Creighton taking third place in another Peugeot just over seven seconds further back. Jordan Hone and Jody McManus were among those who retired early in.

The M. O’Brien Plant Hire Junior 1000 category for 15‐19 year olds sees Jason Murphy’s long unbeaten run remain intact, although he was put under considerable pressure by Rory Byrne. After the eight stages there were only 11 seconds separating the pair. Aoife Gahan took third place and really enjoyed the stages, while Scottish driver Peter Beaton led after the opening stage only to have to run in Rally 2 after the first service. He eventually finished in fourth place to collect valuable championship points.

Overall Top 6 Results 1


Marty McMormack & David Moynihan

Skoda Fabia R5



Barry McKenna & Leon Jordan

Ford Fiesta R5



Josh Moffett & Stephen Thornton

Ford Fiesta R5



Gerard Lucey & J.J. Cremin

Mitsubishi Lancer



Stephen McCann & Kaine Treanor

Ford Fiesta S2000



Eoghain Rogers & Paddy McCrudden

Mitsubishi Lancer


Kevin O’Driscoll,  
Press Officer, 
Valvoline Motorsport Ireland Forest Rally Championship,  

Footer Image 1
Footer Image 2
Footer Image 3
Footer Image 4
Footer Image 5
Footer Image 6
Web Development by KL Studios Ltd.

This website wishes to use third-party cookies to ensure that you have the best possible experience. If you'd like to accept the use of these cookies, you can do so below. Please note that not accepting third-party cookies can disrupt the website experience. Full details and controls are available in our cookie policy with further details available in our privacy statement.

Accept Selection Accept All