Motorsport Ireland National Forest Rally Championship
Home About Us Contact Us

Motorsport Ireland National Forest Rally Championship

Home Navigation Contact Us

Wicklow Forest Rally Preview

Written on 14th May 2014 by Greg Shinnors

The next round of the 2014 Valvoline National Forest Rally Championship takes place in the picturesque setting of Glendalough co. Wicklow this Saturday May 17th.  The Forest Championship is returning to the “Garden of Ireland” for the first time since 2006 in the form of a mini stage (4 stages – 2 repeated).  The rally has attracted the “Valvoline” Championship regulars; some new comers and the local Wicklow “Driver” contingent are making a return to the forest stages.  Organizing Club the “ALMC” are new to forest rallying while the Wicklow stages “Glenmalure” and “Aughavannagh” are tried and tested territory.  These stages have provided very exciting battles on “Circuit of Wicklow” forest rallies over years and this Saturday’s event promises to be as competitive and exciting as the previous rounds in Clonmel and Ballyvourney.


CoC John Carroll & his team have laid out a very competitor friendly format with everything taking place on Saturday.  Scrutiny begins from 08:00 at “Glendalough House” in Annamoe followed by the safety briefing at 12:00.  The first car is due to start from parc ferme at 13:00 heading for the opening 11km stage “Glenmalure”.  The second stage “Aughavannagh” offers another challenging 11kms of technical forest roads before service in Rathdrum at 15:00.  After service competitors repeat the two stages with the first cars due at the finish ramp outside Rally HQ (the Glendalough Hotel) at 18:00.

Championship leaders Desi Henry/ Liam Moynihan (Evo 9) face an epic encounter with the various Evo’s of Josh Moffett, Brendan Cumiskey, Owen Murphy,  Andrew Purcell, Pat O’Connell, Peter McCullagh, Niall Henry and Daniel Cronin.  This rally is neutral ground for everyone following the opening two rounds in Munster with two Northern rounds to follow later in the year.  Add in the WRC’s of Martin Cairns, Marty McKenna and John Reid their machinery should certainly spice things up!


The 2WD category is likely to be dominated by Escorts in the absence of Championship leader Shane McGirr who has opted to drop this round.  This leaves Micky Conlon, Ollie Williams and David Crossen the expected pace setters. Glendalough’s Jason Roche returns to the woods with his 2.0 16v Escort mk2 and maybe the man to watch for 2WD honors?  However Kiltegan’s Trevor Culbert has entered, is an unknown quantity on gravel and could be right up there?  Local entries include The “Driver” family represented by the younger generation and hoping to follow their fathers’ footsteps are James (Ka) on his first stage rally, his cousins Paul/ Barry (Sunny GTi R) and their sister Niamh/ Aishling (Swift)  are to battle for family pride.


The Seeded Entry List is due to be published Thursday 15th May on

For Further information including time & distance schedule, final instructions & live results during the rally go to:






Greg Shinnors,

Championship PRO.

00 353 87 2691975

Footer Image 1
Footer Image 2
Footer Image 3
Footer Image 4
Footer Image 5
Footer Image 6
Web Development by KL Studios Ltd.

This website wishes to use third-party cookies to ensure that you have the best possible experience. If you'd like to accept the use of these cookies, you can do so below. Please note that not accepting third-party cookies can disrupt the website experience. Full details and controls are available in our cookie policy with further details available in our privacy statement.

Accept Selection Accept All